Molicel P50B vs Ampace JP50P1 vs EVE 50PL: Spec-Sheet Comparison of 5000mAh 21700 Batteries
Three 21700 5000mAh battery models often appear on shortlists for high discharge 21700 packs: Molicel P50B, Ampace JP50P1, and EVE 50PL.
This 21700 battery comparison uses the supplied manufacturer specification sheets, not only summary-table claims. That matters because “25A charge,” “60A discharge,” and “70A discharge” do not always mean the same thing.
The Ampace document supplied here covers JP50P1, while the earlier summary list says JP50. Confirm the exact part number before sourcing.
Spec-Sheet Comparison Table
| Model | Nominal V | Capacity | Standard / rated charge | Max charge | Max discharge | AC-IR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Molicel P50B | 3.6V | 5.0Ah typ.; 4.85Ah min. | 5.0A CC/CV to 4.2V | 25A max continuous; high-rate cycle decay | 60A max continuous; cycle life reduced at high rates | ≤8mΩ |
| Ampace JP50P1 | 3.58V | 5000mAh mean; 4900mAh min. | 2.5A (0.5C) to 4.20V, 100mA cut-off | 15A at 25–60°C; 8A at 10–25°C | Rate data to 40A; summary list says 60A max / 180A pulse — confirm | Summary: ≤4mΩ; not stated in supplied extract |
| EVE 50PL | 3.60V | ≥5000mAh | 2.5A to 4.20V, 0.1A cut-off | 12A at 15–45°C; 5A outside | 70A max, “not for cycle”; 2.50V or 75°C cut-off | ≤5mΩ |
Molicel P50B: Fast-Charge Cell With Cycle-Life Caveats
The Molicel P50B spec sheet lists a 5.0A rated charge and a 25A maximum continuous charging current. The 25A figure is not the standard charge current.
Molicel also notes that high-rate charge cycling will decay fast. So the 25A charge capability is best treated as a fast-charge ceiling, not a normal daily charge rate for long cycle life.
On discharge, P50B lists 60A maximum continuous discharging current, with a note that cycle life is reduced at high rates. Its shipping AC-IR is ≤8mΩ by AC 1kHz within 3–4 hours after rated discharge to 30% SOC.
Molicel’s cycle-life data shows the tradeoff clearly: 500 cycles ≥80% at 5A, ≥75% at 10A, and ≥70% at 20A. For Molicel P50B 21700 projects, decide early whether the priority is charge speed or cycle life.
Ampace JP50P1: 15A Charge, But Check the Discharge Claim
The supplied Ampace JP50P1 specification confirms a 2.5A standard charge and a 15A maximum charge at 25–60°C. Maximum charge drops to 8.0A at 10–25°C, 2.5A at 0–10°C, and 2A at -10–0°C.
Its nominal voltage is 3.58V, not 3.6V. Standard discharge capacity is 5000mAh mean / 4900mAh minimum at 0.2C.
The JP50P1 extract lists discharge-rate data up to 40A, with relative capacity around 92% at 30–40A. It does not clearly state a 60A continuous discharge, 180A pulse rating, or AC-IR limit in the extracted sections.
The earlier summary list says 60A max / 180A pulse / ≤4mΩ. For an Ampace JP50 21700 design, ask the supplier to confirm those figures in the final datasheet, including pulse duration and test conditions.
EVE 50PL: 70A Max Discharge, But Not for Normal Cycling
The EVE 50PL spec sheet lists 70A maximum discharge, but explicitly marks it “not for cycle.” The cutoff is 2.50V or 75°C cell surface temperature.
Its cycle-life test is more conservative: charge at 10A, discharge at 40A, 400 cycles, capacity ≥60%. That is the better number for normal high-power cycling evaluation.
EVE 50PL lists 12A maximum charge at 15–45°C, dropping to 5A at 0–15°C and 45–60°C. Standard charge is 2.5A to 4.20V with 0.1A cutoff.
Initial AC-IR is ≤5mΩ at AC 1kHz at shipping SOC. Rated capacity is ≥5000mAh at 1A discharge to 2.50V. For EVE 50PL 21700 packs, treat 70A as a high-current ceiling, not a continuous cycling target.
AC-IR Comparison: Read the Test Condition
AC-IR values are useful, but only when the test method matches.
Molicel P50B lists ≤8mΩ by AC 1kHz within 3–4 hours after rated discharge to 30% SOC. EVE 50PL lists ≤5mΩ at AC 1kHz at shipping SOC. The supplied Ampace JP50P1 extract does not state an AC-IR limit.
Do not rank cells by AC-IR alone across different manufacturers. Temperature, SOC, frequency, and measurement timing all affect the result.
Which 5000mAh 21700 Should You Choose?
Choose Molicel P50B if fast charging is the main goal and you accept a cycle-life tradeoff at high charge rates. Use the 5.0A rated charge when long cycle life matters.
Choose Ampace JP50P1 if you need a 15A max charge window at 25–60°C and rate data up to 40A. Confirm the 60A/180A and AC-IR claims with the exact JP50P1 datasheet before design.
Choose EVE 50PL if you need a spec-sheet 70A max discharge ceiling and can manage the 75°C cutoff and thermal design. For cycling, use the 40A cycle-life test as a more realistic reference.
Conclusion
These three 21700 5000mAh cells are not interchangeable by capacity alone.
Molicel P50B is the fast-charge option with clear cycle-life caveats. Ampace JP50P1 offers 15A max charge but needs discharge-rating confirmation. EVE 50PL lists the highest max discharge at 70A, but its cycle-life test is 40A.
For high discharge 21700 packs, compare the actual continuous current, pulse profile, charge rate, thermal cutoff, and cycle-life target. Then verify the exact datasheet and part number before qualification.
🌐 Store Website: [www.alibababecell.com]
